Loading...

Knowledge Base
 Up to 70% off  on  WordPress  hosting for WordPress Websites and Stores!

How to Set Up a WordPress Staging Site on Maestro

There is a difference between a staging site and a live site. A staging site is a copy of your live site. You can test all your changes on a staging site without affecting your visitors on the live site. Any changes that you make on a staging site will only reflect on the live site once those changes are deployed to the live site.

You can test plugins and theme updates, WordPress core updates, design and content changes, and more on a staging site and deploy them to the live site when ready. Head to our blog to learn more about staging websites.

When you're ready to get started, you can set up a staging site from your Maestro dashboard.



Getting Started

The staging feature is currently available for all Bluehost sites that have been added and have access to it from the Maestro dashboard. The feature will be available for all sites hosted on Bluehost, irrespective of which hosting option you have selected (subject to resource availability on your hosting server).

What is Maestro WordPress Hosting?

To learn more about Maestro WordPress hosting, see A Web Pro's Tool For Managing Multiple WordPress Sites.

Note: If you need instructions on creating a Staging Site in WordPress and know the best staging plugin to use for WordPress, check out WordPress - How to Create a Staging Site.

Create a Staging Site for WordPress on Maestro Panel

To create or set up a Maestro WordPress staging environment, follow the steps below:

  1. Log in to your Maestro account. For instructions on how to access your Maestro account, check out How to Log in to your Maestro Account.
  2. Click the Sites tab on the left menu. Under My Sites, you will see a drop-down with radio buttons for your Live Site or Staging Site. Click on the Staging Site radio button.
    Staging Site radio button
  3. Next, click the Create Staging Site button.
    Create Staging Site button
  4. Once clicked, the system will start creating a staging site.
    System loading

    Creating a staging site will take some time, depending on the size of your site. You can continue your other tasks while the creation is in progress. You will be notified when the staging site is created.

    Note: The staging site will be created on the same server where your live site is hosted.

  5. Once the staging site is created, you should be able to view the staging site.
    Staging site
  6. You can visit your staging site by clicking on the thumbnail in the Overview tab.
    Overview tab

Test Changes on Your Staging Site

After creating a staging site, you can easily switch between your live and staging from the site drop-down. Learn how to test WordPress updates on Maestro by following the steps below.

Live Site and Staging Site radio buttons

Testing Changes: Plugin, Theme, and WordPress Core

You can test plugin, theme, and WordPress core updates on your staging site before deploying them on your live site.

  1. Create a staging site if not already created.
  2. Switch to the staging site from the site drop-down.
  3. Navigate to the Plugins, Themes, or Update Settings tab in your staging site to test the updates.
    Plugins, Themes, and Update Settings tabs
  4. Once the updates are done, check the staging site to confirm everything works. Click on the thumbnail under the Overview tab.
    Overview tab

Testing Changes: New Plugin

You can experiment with new plugins on your staging site before installing them on your live site.

  1. Create a staging site if not already created.
  2. Switch to the staging site from the drop-down.
  3. Navigate to the Plugins tab of your staging site.
  4. You can click on Install new plugins and install the plugin (or install from a collection) you want to experiment with.
    Install new plugins link
  5. Once the updates are done, check the staging site to confirm everything works. Click on the thumbnail under the Overview tab.

Testing Changes: Content and Design Updates from the WordPress Admin

You can test the design or make content changes (changes made by the WordPress admin) on a staging site.

  1. Create a staging site if not already created.
  2. Switch to the staging site from the drop-down.
  3. Click on Login to WordPress on the top of the screen for your staging site.
    Login to WordPress button

    This will log you into the WordPress admin of the staging site. You can differentiate the WordPress admin of your staging site by the label on the top.

    Staging Environment

    You can update the content or make design changes here. These changes will only reflect on your live site once deployed. Once you are confident of your changes and wish to deploy them live, you can easily do that from your Maestro dashboard.

Deploy Changes from the Staging Site to the Live Site

Changes made on the staging site can easily be deployed to your live site from Maestro with a click of a button.

  1. Navigate to the staging site. You will have three options to Deploy to Live - Deploy all Changes, Deploy Files Only, or Deploy Database Only.
    Deploy to Live options

    Note: Upon deployment, the live site will be overwritten with the changes from the staging site.

  2. Select your preferred deployment status. Upon confirmation, the deployment of changes will begin.
    Deploying to live notification

    Important: Deployment will take some time, and during this time, you will not be able to make any further developments to your staging site

  3. Once deployment is completed, you should see the changes on your live site.
    Deploying in progress

    You will be notified when the deployment has been completed.

Copy Changes from the Live Site to the Staging Site

  1. If you wish to copy any changes made on the live site to the staging site, you can do that through your Maestro dashboard with a click of a button.
    Copy Live to Staging option

    Important: If changes are made on the staging site that is not yet deployed on the live site, these would all be overwritten upon using this function.

  2. It is important to know that this action will copy your live site to your staging site, not the other way around. Thus, any undeployed changes in staging will be overwritten once this process is done.
    System copying live site

Delete a Staging Site

  1. After testing all the changes, you may delete the staging site. Any changes not deployed will be permanently lost once you delete the staging site from your Maestro dashboard.
    Delete Staging Site option
  2. Deletion of the staging site will take some time. You will be notified when the staging site is deleted.
    Deleting staging notification

Summary

A staging site copies your actual website and allows you to experiment with updates or changes without affecting the visitors on your live site. Maestro provides a staging feature for WordPress sites, allowing you to create a staging site on your Maestro dashboard. Before implementing them on your live site, you can use the staging site to test plugins, themes, WordPress core updates, design and content changes, and more. Once you are satisfied with the changes made on your staging site, you can easily deploy them to your live site.

If you need further assistance, feel free to contact us via Chat or Phone:

  • Chat Support - While on our website, you should see a CHAT bubble in the bottom right-hand corner of the page. Click anywhere on the bubble to begin a chat session.
  • Phone Support -
    • US: 888-401-4678
    • International: +1 801-765-9400

You may also refer to our Knowledge Base articles to help answer common questions and guide you through various setup, configuration, and troubleshooting steps.

Did you find this article helpful?

 
* Your feedback is too short

Loading...