1. bluehost knowledge base

VPS & Dedicated Hosting: Managing Backups with SFTP

There are a few options to consider when wanting to download or delete the server backups on a VPS or Dedicated Server. The first will be how to manage it with SFTP. To do this, you'll need an FTP client. In this article, we will use Filezilla. 

To get started, open Filezilla. To download Filezilla, please see: http://filezilla-project.org

  1. Go to File in the top left, and select Site Manager
    User-added image
  2. Now click New Site.  You'll need to enter the follow information:
    • Host: Your Server IP
    • Protocol: SFTP
    • Logon Type: Normal
    • Username: root
    • Password: your root password 
      User-added image
  3. Once you have entered the information, click Connect

    Note: When you connect you will likely be prompted to accept the host key.  Click OK and proceed.

  4. Once connected, you will be taken to /root (which is the root users directory; you can't do much in there); go up a directory. 
    User-added image
  5. Now that your at / you can navigate to the backup directory and then the cpbackup directory.
    • If you are using Legacy Backup (the default backup manager) you'll want to go to /backup/cpbackup
    • If you are using Backup Configuration then you'll want to go to /backup 
      User-added image
  6. In the /backup/cpbackup directory you will find a daily, weekly, and monthly directory. Depending on which backups you have running, you'll want to go to directory for them.  By default daily and monthly backups are running.  So if you want to modify your daily backup you'd go to the daily directory. 
    User-added image
  7. The file you want to get will be username.tar.gz,  username would be the account's Username. Once you're there, you can drag and drop the file to where you want to download it, or delete it if that is your purpose. 
    User-added image
It is strongly recommended that you download anything before you delete it. Deleting any of your files is a bad idea unless you know what it is, you have got a backup, or you are 100% sure it's not needed.