Loading...

Knowledge Base

Change Length of Hosting Plan

Did you find this article helpful?
Copy Link

 
* Your feedback is too short
Share

Changing the length of your hosting plan is referred to as a term change. This is different from upgrading or downgrading to another hosting plan. A term change changes the length of time but not the type of plan. If another term length or hosting plan better fits your needs, our Customer Support team will gladly assist you with a term change.

Note: This article is intended specifically for Bluerock. To learn more about hosting plan prices, please log in to Bluehost.com.



New Account

Our customers receive a promotional rate for their first hosting term, after which all accounts will be renewed at our standard rates. You may use the promotional rate by contacting us to upgrade to a longer term within the first 30 days of your account. The longer you sign up for the promotional rate, the greater your discount overall. The savings can be significant!

When a term change is processed within 30 days of sign-up, full credit for the original hosting term will be applied to the new hosting term charge. You will be refunded or charged for the difference based on the term length chosen. The expiration date of your account will not change.

Example 1 – Longer Term

Terms Months Amount Total
Original Term 12 months $11.95/month $143.40
New Term 36 months $6.95/month $250.20
Difference $250.20 – $143.40 = $106.80 Owed

The original 12-month term would have been renewed at the standard rate of $11.95 for each of the next two years, for a total of $430.20 over 36 months, but a 36-month term at the promotional rate of $6.95 is a total of $250.20, a savings of $180.00!

Example 2 – Shorter Term

Terms Months Amount Total
Original Term 24 months $8.95/month $214.80
New Term 12 months $11.95/month $143.40
Difference $143.40 – $214.80 = $71.4 Refund

Existing Account

When a term change is processed on an account older than 30 days, a prorated credit for the remaining time on the current hosting term is applied toward the charge for your new hosting term. You will be refunded or charged for the difference based on the term length chosen. The new term will begin the date the term change is processed, changing the expiration date.

Example 1 – Longer Term

Terms Months Amount Total
Remaining Term 8.33 months $11.95/month $99.54
New Term 24 months $8.95/month $214.80
Difference $214.80 – $99.54 = $71.4 Owed

Example 2 – Shorter Term

Terms Months Amount Total
Remaining Term 29.21 months $6.95/month $203.00
New Term 12 months $11.95/month $143.40
Difference $143.40 – $203.00 = $59.6 Refund

Exclusions

  • A term change can only be processed if the account is in a pre-renewal state when a renewal has been processed, but the new term has yet to start. If the account is in pre-renewal, the Billing Department can reverse the renewal and issue a refund; then, you can renew for the term length of your choice.
  • A term change cannot be processed between VPS and Dedicated hosting plans.

If you need further assistance, feel free to contact us via Chat or Phone:

  • Chat Support - While on our website, you should see a CHAT bubble in the bottom right-hand corner of the page. Click anywhere on the bubble to begin a chat session.
  • Phone Support -
    • US: 888-401-4678
    • International: +1 801-765-9400

You may also refer to our Knowledge Base articles to help answer common questions and guide you through various setup, configuration, and troubleshooting steps.

Did you find this article helpful?
Copy Link

 
* Your feedback is too short

Loading...